34TH Farmers Day Awards Celebration

Farmers’ Day was instituted by the PNDC Government of Ghana in 1985 in recognition of the vital role farmers and fishers play in the economy especially the highly commendable output of farmers and fishermen in 1984, (about 30% growth), after the bad agricultural years of 1982 and 1983 (MOFA, 2010).

Other dignatories who graced the occasion include; Hon. Mozart K. Owuh, MCE, Prestea Huni-Valley, Nana Nteboah Prah IV, Chief of Hman-Prestea, Nana Kwasi Sompre, Chief of Bogoso, Mr. Gabriel Adjargo, Municipal Agric Director, Mr. Abiam Danso, NPP Prestea Huni-Valley Chairman, Mr. Abdul Razak, Goldfields Ghana, Mr. Robert Gyenfi, Golden Star Bogoso/Prestea Ltd, Mr. Abutiate, Fiaseman Rural Bank, Mr. John Enimil, Immediate Past Municipal Best Farmer, Supt. Adjei-Nimo, Prestea District Police Commander, Ins. Berko, Bogoso Police Unit, Hon. Emmanuel Ennor Arthur, 2nd Vice Constituency Chairman, Hon. Francis Abeiku Yankah (Big Abbey), NADMO Director, over 32 Assembly Members, Staff of Assembly, the Media, and close to 1000 farmers from Prestea Huni-Valley Municipality.

Below is the full list of 2018 Award Winners

1. Best Municipal Farmer – Mr. Samuel William Derby

2. 1st Runner Up – Rev. Richard Benzo

3. 2nd Runner Up – Mr. Benjamin Odoom

4. Municipal Best Agric. Ext.Officer – Mr. C.O Amoako

5. Municipal Best Fish Farmer – Mr. Isaac Gyetuah

6. Municipal Best Livestock Farmer – Mr. Atsu Adi

7. Municipal Best Disabled Farmer – Mr. Kwaku Manu

8. Municipal Best Cocoa Farmer – Nana Kwabena Ntiako

9. Municipal Best Female Farmer – Mrs. Janeth Botha

10. Municipal Best Vegetable Farmer – Mr. Kwame Nyame

11. Municipal Best Oil Palm Farmer – Mrs. Victoria Bassanyin

12. Municipal Best Youth Farmer – Mr. Anthony Asamoah

The winner was presented with Aboboya tricycle, bycycle, full piece of kete cloth, over 10 bags of fertilizers, 5 wheel barrows, 5 spraying machines, 2 packet of roofing sheets, 1 box of cutlass, and cash prize of GHc 1,000 from the MP.

The other winners received appreciable prizes.

Special MP Award

Nana Kwaku Appiah III, Chief of Paterporm awarded with citation for generaously donating vast land to the Municipality for construction of Municipal Hospital, and Municipal Assembly Complex and many more.

Radio Stations recognised with citation for having programme dedicated to farmers include;

1. Appolo FM, Bawdie

2. Pure FM, Tarkwa

3. Trinity FM, Bogoso.


source: https://www.ghanaweb.com/GhanaHomePage/regional/Prestea-MP-pledges-additional-cocoa-centre-for-farmers-708126

Posted in News.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *